Fillet Edge for only part of an edge

Hello,

I’m a complete beginner, went through the Training Level guides 1 and 2. I want to know if there’s a way to just fillet a section of an edge.

I used the SplitEdge command to split the facing, outer edge of this ring by the two points that are at two corners of the flat, top surface of the signet. (It actually has split the edge into three sections, the image below shows the left and right side edges selected during the FilletEdge command, with the top, horizontal edge not selected):

But what should I do to make just that selection filleted? It tends to fillet the entire, original edge. I feel it has something to do with Chain Continuity, or Adding Handles - but I just can’t figure it out.

I’ll then have to figure out how to make some kind of smooth transition from the fillet edge corners near those two points and the rest of the flat signet… (and it’s not so flat up there, is it? I did a Sweep2, and it seems to have some irregularities)… any pointers in that regard would be greatly appreciated as well.

Hope this has a simple answer, and thanks for your time!

StupidRing.3dm (175.8 KB)

(Hopefully) simple answer.

• Keep the surfaces joined so you can use the Solid – Fillet command.
  • Add a new handle at both ends of the highlighted edge.
  • Make that radius 0 / zero.
  • Fillet

Addign handles is a little tricky at first, so be sure to read the command line at every step.

Thanks for the reply. So it has to do with Handles, I can experiment with those.

However, it still doesn’t quite get the result I’d like.

When you say ‘Make that radius 0 / zero’, I assume you’re talking about the handle(s). Or handles don’t have radii (?) - but there’s the option when adding a handle to change the value of CurrentRadius, and that’s where I can change it to 0 or 0.3 But there’s a few combinations that lead to two (at least, I think) different results: