Elevator mode on Mac

Does elevator mode work on mac? if so which is the hotkey?

Cmd replaces Ctrl for Windows–> MacRhino…

–Mitch

I tried this and it works but for some reason Ortho is disabled. I’m new to Rhino and may not understand the elevator function. Any idea what I might be doing wrong?

elevator mode is a bit of a weird one to get used to (or it was for me at least) since i kept thinking i’d push a key and the thing goes vertical…

you have to hold cmmd then click on the point you’d like to go vertical from… say you want to draw a vertical line (there are better ways to draw a vertical line but just for example)

• run the _Line command
• click in the perspective viewport to set the first point
• cmmd-click on that point again to go into elevator mode… the line will now be constrained to the Z axis.

i had accuracy issues when first trying that so pretty much after you set the first point, move the cursor off the point then bring it back ensuring you’re getting a ‘point’ snap prior to activating elevator mode.

elevator is more powerful than just drawing vertical lines but it takes a minute to see what else it can do… still, i sort of wish there was a dumber mode in which a key press only does one thing which forces vertical from the start point.

re: ortho
if you push the O key, ortho will toggle on/off (the indicator is in the toolbar at the top of the window)… i generally leave ortho off though and use the shift key to temporarily turn it on… (and i do this a lot).
but i guess you’ll have to experiment with it to see what works best for you.

1 Like

Hello Jeff - Thanks for the quick response. I think I got all that. My problem is neither the shift nor the O key do anything. The Ortho button changes but it does nothing.