Am i using the right tool to draw a large floating textile? my computer crashed!

My computer is not responding :slight_smile:
please advise the best way to build this in rhino or grasshopper? (i am new to both)

I am trying to build something that looks like a knitted/woven textile, which is floating in air.
Starting with the small components made from polysurfaces (i’ll call them tiles). The tiles are arrayed over a rectangular grid. Separately i have an assymentrical surface which ive made to look like a sheet of fabric floating in the breeze. I want to flow the arrayed bed of tiles over this surface.
I have attached a screen grab of the arrayed objects and the assymetrical surfaces in the perspective frame.
Ihaven’t even got to the flow to surface step yet!!! :slight_smile: It crashes after i array the bed of polysurface objects…

I have a system with 8G RAM, quad core i5-2500k (3.3ghz) processors and a NVIDEA quattro600 graphics card.

Is my problem the computer capacity, or should i be doing this another way?

I need the individual ‘tiles’ to retain their general proportion, because i want to build a large ‘floating textile’ sculpture based on these smaller units.

thanks!

Hi Sian- do you need to have these ‘tiles’ as 3d geometry? it seems like using a texture map in a repeating pattern would be far more efficient.

-Pascal

hi pascal
yes the ‘tiles’ are not 2D patterns. let me rather call them ‘bricks’. They are slightly bulging polysurfaces, which i want to lay over an undulating surface.

my first problem is that my computer is not handling at all, and it has more than the minimum requirements…

tnc for getting back to me

What do you need this for?
Blocks could be one way to go.
And lowpoly mesh parts that are joined together is another.

Hey Sian,

Take a look here:
http://docs.mcneel.com/rhino/5/help/en-us/commands/applydisplacement.htm

David

thanks pascal - i’ll look for the texture map tools and give them a try

hi david