Aligning/Orienting Curves

Hi, and thanks for taking the time to look at this.

I’m fairly new to Rhino, and 3D work in general.

What I have is a set of circumferences made around tube-like irregular objects (think tree branch). I have 4 evenly spaced circumferences on each object, and i have about 160 objects. These circumferences are closed curves, and they all share a reference point via a line running down the length of the object connecting the circs. The circumferences are basically lined up, although they can be angled if the irregular object is bent.

What i want to do is make four graphical comparisons of each one of the circumferences. I would be comparing “like” circumferences. Right now, I am grouping the single points and the curves and translating them to the origin. However, some of the curves are angled or tilted, and I have to manually straighten them out so that they all line up to the XZ plane. Is there any way to get the curves to straighten/or best fit automatically? I’m open to suggestions (aligning on the centroid, ect). I want to get them all lined up so I can just turn on/off the layers and take a screen shot from one location to get a visual representation of the the differences in sizes.

Thanks!

Here is a picture of the circumferences as they exist on the scan:

In this picture I have translated all of the single points to the origin, but I would like to be able to revolve/angle the curves so that they fit (as well as possible) to the vertical black line (or the XZ plane):

Here is a picture of what I am trying to get to, but with only 2 circumferences so far. I think I may want to rotate on the common point a bit differently, but hopefully this picture will clarify things.

Edit: added sample file

CircumferenceAlign02252015.3dm (80.4 KB)

You can rotate the curve individually in the edge view to get them close to the construction plane…